MVRPC Honors Local Leaders in the Region at 2024 Annual Spring Dinner

Dayton, OH – The Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission (MVRPC) hosted the Annual Spring Dinner on Thursday, April 18, 2024, at the Marriott at the University of Dayton. This annual dinner is a celebration of the accomplishments of the Region. MVRPC’s Chairperson and City of Riverside Council Member, Sara Lommatzsch, Second Vice-Chairperson and City of Troy Mayor, Robin I. Oda and Third Vice-Chairperson and Darke County Commissioner, Larry Holmes along with MVRPC’s Executive Director, Brian O. Martin, presided over the event, which was attended by nearly 300 guests. During the dinner, the Arthur D. Haddad Regional Steward award was presented to Greene County Commissioner Tom Koogler and the Regional Partner Award was presented to Steve Stanley from the Montgomery County TID.

The Arthur D. Haddad Regional Steward Award recognizes someone with an innovative spirit for solving regional challenges; who builds broad support toward a shared regional vision; and someone who is a regional steward promoting economic, social and environmental progress.

Tom Koogler, Greene County Commissioner, received this award for his visionary approach, leadership, and determined work ethic throughout his career. Koogler is recognized for his understanding of Return on Investment and entrepreneurial background which has provided unique expertise to his time serving on the MVRPC Board of Directors. He was instrumental in developing our policy subcommittee, which is a sounding board for needed policy change.  Commissioner Koogler was also heavily involved with securing unanimous board adoption of the agency’s resolution on Ensuring Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in all MVRPC Board and staff actions. 

Brian O. Martin, MVRPC’s Executive Director, noted, “Commissioner Koogler was elected in 2013, the same year that I came to MVRPC. He has been a valued voice for his county as well as the Region for some time and I look forward to his positive continued input to our Region”.

The Regional Partner Award recognizes MVRPC’s partners who work together to achieve a common goal across the Region.

Steve Stanley from the Montgomery County TID received this award for his over 40-year career in government affairs and economic development. He was instrumental in forming the Montgomery County Transportation Improvement District to support the betterment of the area for all residents. His positive attitude and willingness to work with others resulted in several successful infrastructure and development projects.

“Mr. Stanley has been a valued voice on infrastructure finance for some time. He is the Region’s expert in infrastructure finance and he has been very helpful to counties and municipalities in securing funding for their projects such as the Austin Interchange at I-75 and US 40 City of Union and City of Dayton projects that have brought thousands of warehouse and distribution jobs to the Region,” stated Mr. Martin.

The MVRPC Annual Spring Dinner was made possible by support from generous sponsors; Burgess & Niple, Montgomery County, American Structurepoint, CenterPoint Energy, Central State University, CT Consultants, Dayton Dragons, Dayton Development Coalition, Fishbeck, Greater Dayton RTA, Heidelberg Distributing, Key Ads, LJB, Local Gov Consultants, LLC, TEC Engineering, The Dayton Foundation, University of Dayton.

Established in 1964, the Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission promotes collaboration among communities, stakeholders, and residents to advance regional priorities. MVRPC is a forum and resource where the Board of Directors identifies priorities and develops public policy and collaborative strategies to improve the quality of life throughout the Miami Valley Region.

MVRPC performs planning and research functions for our Region that ensure livable and equitable communities; clean air and water; robust roadway, transit, and active transportation options; and strategic community plans that chart the course for member communities and partners. MVRPC’s geographic area includes Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Shelby, and northern Warren counties in Southwest Ohio. Learn more at