Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission Approves $26.7 Million in Federal Transportation Funds.

Dayton, OH – The Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission (MVRPC) Board of Directors recently approved $26.7 million in federal transportation funds for 29 roadway, bikeway/pedestrian, transit, and planning projects that will benefit the Miami Valley Region. MVRPC’s regionally-controlled Surface Transportation Program (STP), Transportation Alternatives (TA) and Carbon Reduction (CR) funds will finance over $41.3 million in transportation projects when matched with local dollars. The projects are located throughout MVRPC’s Metropolitan Planning Organization area, which includes Greene, Miami, Montgomery, and northern Warren Counties.

In September 2023, MVRPC solicited member jurisdictions for new transportation projects that would be eligible for STP, TA and CR funds. By the October 11, 2023 deadline, 36 applications for projects with a total cost of over $66.1 million had been received. The applications were then made available for public comment and subsequently ranked using adopted criteria. A list of the recommended projects was reviewed by MVRPC’s Technical Advisory Committee and then by MVRPC’s Board of Directors for approval. The projects are expected to be implemented from years 2025 to 2029.

Projects by category can be viewed at:

Established in 1964, the Miami Valley Regional Planning Commission promotes collaboration among communities, stakeholders, and residents to advance regional priorities. MVRPC is a forum and resource where the Board of Directors identifies priorities and develops public policy and collaborative strategies to improve the quality of life throughout the Miami Valley Region. 

MVRPC performs planning and research functions for our Region that ensure livable and equitable communities; clean air and water; robust roadway, transit, and active transportation options; and strategic community plans that chart the course for member communities and partners. MVRPC’s geographic area includes Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, Preble, Shelby, and northern Warren counties in Southwest Ohio. Learn more at